Important Data and Facts

The island groups of the Seychelles lie northeast of Madagascar. The republic consists of 115 islands, which cover an area of over 400.000 km². The islands of Mahé, Praslin and La Digue are the most important areas, as they have the largest population density.  The Morne Seychellois on Mahé is the the highest point of the group, rising to 905 m. above sea level. On the coral islands there are only few smaller settlements because of the lower ground level. (The highest points are 9 m above sea level) and lack of drinking water. The climate is tropical and quite consistent because of the proximity to the equator, the temperature varies between 24° C and 30° C and the rainfall varies between 2,880 mm in the capital Victoria and 3,550 mm in the mountain regions. 


  • Official languages: Seselwa, English, French
  • Capital: Victoria
  • Constitution: Republic
  • Population: 80.832 (July 2004)
  • Population density:  77 inhabitants per km²
  • Currency:  Seychelles-Rupee
  • Time zone:  UTC+4
  • Country dialling code : +248
Seychellen Urlaub
Seychellen Hotel
Diese Website benutzt Cookies. Wenn Sie die Website weiter nutzen, stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr Informationen
Ich stimme zu